COFFIN MULCH Drop New Track, “Fall of Gaia” Online Today!

Scottish death metal crew COFFIN MULCH have today released a new single online entitled, “Fall Of Gaia!” This is the second track released from the band’s upcoming debut album, Spectral Intercession. The album is set for release on June 30th on Memento Mori. You can check out the new track and get more info about the band below.

From The Press Release

Today, Scottish death metallers Coffin Mulch premiere the new track “Fall of Gaia” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated debut album, Spectral Intercession, set for international release on June 30th via Memento Mori. Hear Coffin Mulch‘s “Fall of Gaia” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Hailing from Scotland, Coffin Mulch formed in 2018 and quickly set to work on their debut demo, Coffin Mulch, which was released a year later. Two years later came the Septic Funeral EP, both of which have garnered widespread acclaim in the death metal underground. Although undeniably a DEATH METAL band, the quartet come from a diverse musical background, having played in a variety of different bands throughout the years, but started Coffin Mulch to play old-school, heavy & pounding death metal influenced by late ’80s / early ’90s gods like Entombed, Autopsy, Massacre, Death, and Bolt Thrower. They’re all punks at heart, though, and the DIY ethic and aesthetic is just as important to them as the tunes.

And “tunes” they indeed have across their full-length debut, Spectral Intercession. With gutted tones just on the right side of raw and a horrifying intro to set the scene, Coffin Mulch lurch and crunch forward with ominous intent. Each of the album’s eight tracks offers ample proof of the potency of traditional, turn-of-the-’90s death metal – especially so, when it’s done with this much passion and intensity. Indeed, no matter the tempo employed (and quite often, the band stick to a headbanging gallop), Coffin Mulch make you feel every mangled riff, every ragged drum-hit, every tortured tonsil…the songwriting may be simple, but it’s not simplistic, and it’s their execution that truly puts over Spectral Intercession. Nevertheless, they’re not afraid to put a little twist here and there, whether it’s a fleeting (and subtly employed) guitar effect or an intentionally askew transition, and the rare guitar solo really hits with soul-searing aplomb. Or witness the eerie, climactic closer “Eternal Enslavement,” where a doomed morass opens up and swallows the listener whole.

There’s no shortage of “old school” death metal records these days, but it’s rare to find one with such personality that’s unselfconscious and not belabored. Coffin Mulch find that sweet spot with Spectral Intercession!

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “Fall of Gaia” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Also hear the previously revealed “Into the Blood” HERE at Memento Mori‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Coffin Mulch’s Spectral Intercession

1. Spectral Intercession
2. Into the Blood
3. Mental Suicide
4. In the Grip of Death
5. Fall of Gaia
6. Gateway to the Unseen
7. Infernal Mass
8. Eternal Enslavement


About Michael Juvinall (6654 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: