RIGOR SARDONICOUS Drop New Track, “Caelum Ardere Vidistis” Online Today!

Long Island, New York doom crew RIGOR SARDONICOUS has released the new ripping track, “Caelum Ardere Vidistis” today. The duo is soon to be releasing their seventh album, Praeparet Bellum, which is set for release on January 23, 2023 via Memento Mori. You can listen to the brutally heavy song below with more info about the band.

From The Press Release

Today, apocalyptic doom cult Rigor Sardonicous premiere the new track “Caelum Ardere Vidistis” at heavily trafficked web-portal NoCleanSinging.com. The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s long-awaited seventh album, Praeparet Bellum, set for international release on January 23rd, 2023 via Memento Mori. Hear Rigor Sardonicous‘ “Caelum Ardere Vidistis” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

True purveyors of aural torment, Rigor Sardonicous are one of the cultest bands of the American death metal underground. Formed in 1988, the long-standing duo of bassist Glenn Hampton and vocalist/guitarist Joseph Fogarazzo remain one of the darkest and creepiest bands calling “death metal” home. Aided by their ever-trustworthy drum-machine, Rigor Sardonicous are utterly lifeless and excruciatingly slow, almost daring the listener to find any “fun” in their all-devouring void of inertia. You could almost qualify their music(k) as doom-death, but not in the traditional sense; existing for as long as (and even longer) than aesthetic forebears like Unholy and Evoken, Rigor Sardonicous‘ slo-mo sizzle equally bears a future-primitive texture not unlike earliest Godflesh or especially the cult Skin Chamber.

And so it goes with Praeparet Bellum, the band’s first full-length recording in over a decade. Immediately and ruinously recognizable as Rigor SardonicousPraeparet Bellum thankfully features all the duo’s signature elements – crushing heaviness, beyond-guttural vocals, and the very slowest of songwriting movement – but devolves them to a frightening degree. Perhaps because of their eerie absence since 2012’s Memento Mori-released Ego Diligio VosRigor Sardonicous sound more unique than ever on Praeparet Bellum: the subgenres of doom-death and funeral doom are definitely in full swing, but there’s little to nothing around as unremittingly EMPTY and HOPELESS as this. You don’t “listen” to this album, and you most definitely don’t “endure” it; its ominous corpulence is only experienced. Bleak? That’s simply too fun.

Here stands the End of all Ends. Be warned: you will NOT return from Rigor Sardonicous‘ Praeparet Bellum!

Continue not-returning with the brand-new track “Caelum Ardere Vidistis” exclusively HERE, courtesy of NoCleanSinging.com. Begin not-returning with the previously revealed “Voluntatem Dei” HERE at Memento Mori‘s official YouTube channel.

Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Rigor Sardonicous’ Praeparet Bellum

1. Caelum Ardere Vidistis
2. Sanguinem Floralibus Luna
3. Terra Mota Est
4. Vita Cantus
5. Ex Finitim
6. Voluntatem Dei
7. Unholy Sonnet 10
8. Praeparet Bellum



About Michael Juvinall (6515 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: