Comic Crypt: New Brutal-As-Hell Series VANISH Coming in September From Image!

Image Comics has announced it will bring an all-new brutal-as-hell series entitled VANISH this September. The new series is from the creative team of Donny Cates & Ryan Stegman. Keep reading on for all the details and some preview panels.

From The Press Release

PORTLAND, Ore. 06/16/2022 — From the all-star creative team—Donny Cates (God Country, Hulk, Thor), Ryan

Stegman (Venom, King in Black), JP Mayer (Absolute Carnage, Fantastic Four), Sonia Oback (Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows, Han Solo), and John J. Hill (Crossover, Harley Quinn)—comes an all-new series titled Vanish. This brutal-as-hell tale of magical worlds, gifted youth, evil sorcerers, superheroes, war, blood, guts, and death is set to launch in print from Image Comics this September, and digitally by way of the KLC Press Substack newsletter.

“Sick and tired of all these ‘young adult’ stories about magic, and wizards, and destiny and love and bla bla bla? Well, good news! We are too!” said Cates in an exclusive announcement of the series at ComicBook.com. “So we made Vanish to answer the one question we’ve all been asking; What if magic was….metal? This is a project that Ryan and I have been secretly building and working on quietly in the background for years now, and we cannot wait to unleash it on you. And the fun part for us is, well, pay attention closely….like the reveal of any great magic trick, you’ll never see this one coming…”

In Vanish, Oliver Harrison was a mythical hero who slayed the greatest threat to his realm before even hitting puberty. But that was then.

As an adult, Oliver leads an average cookie-cutter suburban life—aside from the fact that he’s mentally unstable, massively paranoid, smokes like a chimney, and gets blackout drunk every night to hide from his horrific nightmares. Will the arrival of a superhero team called the Prestige prove the madness isn’t all in Oliver’s head? And what about all the epic fantasy crap from his childhood?

Stegman added: “Vanish is the most exciting thing I’ve drawn. Doing an Image comic has always been my ultimate goal as a creator and we’ve pulled out all the stops to make this special. Donny’s and my goal with this project is to create something that we could never do at Marvel and, well…We’ve succeeded at that I assure you.”

“Somehow Donny and Ryan have been able to meld five different genres into this vast Vanish world they’ve created and it works wonderfully. There’s something in it for everyone… superheroics, fantasy elements, dark brooding aspects, beatdowns and gore. And most of all, it’s FUN,” said Hill. “Fans of Venom, God Country, Thor, and Crossover will eat it up. The entire creative team is working magic on every page.”

Vanish #1 will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, September 7:

Vanish #1 will also be available across many digital platforms, including: Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, and Google Play.

ABOUT IMAGE COMICS
Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of bestselling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has six individuals on the Board of Directors: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri, Jim Valentino, and Eric Stephenson. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, fantasy, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit http://www.imagecomics.com.

About Michael Juvinall (6240 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: