Death/Doom Duo MORDOM To Release New Album, ‘Cry Of The Dying World’!

San Diego’s death-doom metal initiative MORDOM will release their upcoming new album, Cry Of The Dying World, on December 10th on Transylvanian Recordings. Before the slow, riff-laden album drops, you can sample the track, “Narcosis” down below, along with more details on the band and their new album.

From The Press Release

San Diego, California-based death/doom duo MORDOM, featuring members of funeral doom goliaths Cessation, will unleash their Cry Of The Dying World full-length next month via Transylvanian Recordings.

MORDOM was forged in 2018 by bassist/vocalist Max Hoffman and drummer Nathan Gonzalez. Though Gonzalez didn’t play on the band’s 2020 Eternal Solitude demo — crowned a “grave monument of a demo” by Decibel Magazine for its “original and soul-stirring sound, quite unlike anything we’ve heard before” — Hoffman sought him out specifically to assist in the manifestation of latest offering, Cry Of The Dying World. Together, the pair reworked the band’s sound, dropping guitars entirely and blending Finnish death/doom influences with sludge, crust punk, and post-rock. Above all, the pair seeks to create metal that is simultaneously bleak, punishing, and emotionally moving, expressing living in a world being torn apart by hatred, greed, and climate change.

In advance of the record’s release, today the band unveils “Narcosis” for public devourment noting of the track, “‘Narcosis’ is about the mental health crisis, and resulting lack of care by doctors, willing to prescribe drugs that in any other scenario would be considered to life ruining — benzos, opiates, amphetamines, and so on. It shuts patients up, but enslaves them to medicine and gives them a lifetime of addiction. Musically, we sought to capture the doom a fate to these drugs would produce within someone suffering from a mental health crisis.”

Stream MORDOM’s “Narcosis” Here:

Recorded, mixed, and produced by Ethan Camp and mastered by Adam Gonsalves with cover art by Caue Piloto, Cry Of The Dying World will be released on CD, cassette, and digitally December 10th. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.

Cry Of The Dying World Track Listing:

  1. Narcosis
  2. Betrayed
  3. The Fire
  4. The Mausoleum

“Combining the leaden misery of funeral doom, the hideous unconventional songwriting of death metal and the monomaniacal disgust of black metal, MORDOM prove themselves to be preternaturally gifted at transmuting their darkest moods into monstrous moments of crushing sonic majesty.” – Decibel Magazine

About Michael Juvinall (5958 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: