FLAME, DEAR FLAME Release New Single, “The Wolves and the Prioress Part I”!

German doom metal band FLAME, DEAR FLAME has released the new track, “The Wolves and the Prioress” and you can listen online. The track comes off of the band’s debut album, Aegis, which is due for release on August 6, 2021, via Eisenwald. Get more details on the band and their new album right here after the break.

From The Press Release

Today, epic doom upstarts Flame, Dear Flame premiere the new track “The Wolves and the Prioress Part I” at heavily trafficked web-portal NoCleanSinging.com. The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated debut album, Aegis, set for North American release on August 6th via Eisenwald. Hear Flame, Dear Flame‘s “The Wolves and the Prioress Part I” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

In the year 2017 in the north-central German city of Brunswick, the covenant of Flame, Dear Flame was invoked. Providing a staggering take on the most epic form of what can loosely be categorized as doom metal, Flame, Dear Flame manage to fuse a sonic palette that features delicate, melancholy sections of clean guitars and restrained percussion with monumental, crushing epic doom. On their debut album, AegisFlame, Dear Flame have erected a truly distinct sound, characterized by the stirring performance of vocalist Maren Lemke, whose simultaneously airy-yet-powerful voice fuses with the memorable riff-craft on display to create seven towering tracks that are sure to capture the ears of listeners eager to hear an innovative take on a genre that too often conforms to stereotypes.

Aegis is a work thematically divided into two parts. The first part, entitled “The Millennial Heartbeat,” details the genesis of the ocean and the thanatography of the land, a testimony of the forces of nature and its frailty alike, performed in three movements and featuring a classical epic doom approach, rife with gargantuan riffs and percussion as well as soaring clean vocals, yet interspersed with thoughtfully placed and paced clean sections. Serving as a contrasting and complementary second part of the album, “The Wolves and the Prioress” consists of four movements focusing more on acoustic folk elements, further enriching Flame, Dear Flame‘s engrossing sound, and details the story of a feral child that falls into the custody of a sage prioress.

All of these elements result in a unique combination of righteous doom and subtle-yet-noble acoustic folk. Each track is accompanied by a visual representation composed by Karmazid. The culmination of the album’s visuals is its stark cover artwork, laden with elegant symbolism in rich detail, created by Kodex Barbaricus. According to the band, Aegis will be presented in full at Storm Crusher Festival as soon as rescheduling due to the pandemic permits.

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “The Wolves and the Prioress Part I” exclusively HERE, courtesy of NoCleanSinging.com. Also hear the previously revealed “The Millennial Heartbeat Pt. I” HERE at Eisenwald‘s official YouTube channel.

Aforementioned cover art and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Flame, Dear Flame’s Aegis
1. The Millennial Heartbeat Part I
2. The Millennial Heartbeat Part II
3. The Millennial Heartbeat Part III
4. The Wolves and the Prioress Part I
5. The Wolves and the Prioress Part II
6. The Wolves and the Prioress Part III
7. The Wolves and the Prioress Part IV



About Michael Juvinall (6515 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: