CATHARTIC DEMISE To Release ‘In Absence’ New Album This April!

Kitchener, Ontario Canada-based progressive death thrashers CATHARTIC DEMISE to release a new album, In Absence. The full-length will be released on April 9th. In preparation for the album’s release, the band has released a new video for the single, “For Power”. Check out the new video and get more details on the band and their new album.

From The Press Release

Kitchener (ON) – Progressive Death/Thrash Metal quarter CATHARTIC DEMISE will release full-length album In Absence on April 9. The official video for new single, “For Power,” is available at The single is also available on Bandcamp.

In comparison to the band’s self-titled EP, In Absence still consists of the Melo/Prog/Death Thrash Metal elements, but with a more “mature” approach. The overall musicianship within the band improved, as well as the overall songwriting capabilities. In Absence features the same aggression as the self-titled EP, but brings an intense atmosphere with extreme tempos, and brisk riffs. This release heavily carries on the epic melodic sections heard previously, and even going further with more complex song structuring and longer tracks. Aside from the aggressive side of things, hints of experimentation can be heard, showing slower sections, and clean parts as well.


Track Listing

  1. With Lust
  2. For Power
  3. Blade in the Dark
  4. Silence Within
  5. Pale Imitations
  6. Disparity
  7. In Absence
  8. Waves
  9. Desire

Album Credits:

Album Art by Ioannis Vassilopoulas
Recorded and mixed by Jonah Kay at HM Studio, Waterloo ON
Mastered by Jamie King


Bennett Smith – Vocals/Guitars
Aaron Tanner – Bass
Taylor Wroblewski – Lead Guitars
Angus Pike – Drums


The thought of Cathartic Demise came into fruition on October 8, 2017, after high school friends Angus Pike (drums) and Bennett Smith (guitar/vocals) jammed for the first time, and immediately decided to form a group. Bennett had demos previously prepared, (two of the EP songs) and the week after Aaron Tanner would join the lineup, following a few weeks with Taylor Wrobkewski (guitar) quickly completing the quartet. The four rehearsed immensely over a eight-month period landing their first show September 16, 2016. In December of 2018, the band entered into HM Studio, to record the self titled three-track EP Cathartic Demise, released April 26, 2019. For the rest of the year, the band played around Ontario, and in January 2020, Cathartic Demise would begin the recording sessions of In Absence.

About Michael Juvinall (6466 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: