Cuban Black Metal Band MEPHISTO Announce New Album & New Label!

Cuban black metal pioneers MEPHISTO offer the new announcement they have signed with Italian label, Wormholedeath Records. The band will also soon be releasing a new album, Pentafixion, via their new label. Get more details on the band, their impending album release, and their new label down below after the break.

From The Press Release

Cuban black metal pioneers, Mephisto, are about to release their newest album Pentafixion. Mephisto have been active since 1997 and left their mark on the Cuban metal scene with their unique sound and style. Pentafixion will be released via Mephisto’s new label, Wormholedeath Records. The band will unleash their first single soon.

Mephisto states about signing with Wormholedeath Records: “On behalf of all members of Mephisto we wish to announce that we have been offered a contract with the long established and well respected Italian label WormHoleDeath Records.
It is our pleasure to announce that after some discussion, Mephisto have accepted the offer and now enthusiastically join the label. We can’t wait to start working with the team at WormHoleDeath after following their label and their artists for many years. To now be considered part of this family is a long awaited dream come true. We are excited to be bringing our style of Cuban Black Metal to the world thanks to the relationships WormHoleDeath has with its partners including Warner / Chappell Music Holland BV and The Orchard Inc. (Sony Music Ent). We look forward to our first release with Worm Hole Death which is our full length album “Pentafixion”, an album that we have been working on for the best part of 2 years. Who knows, maybe the back catalogue will be released sometime on WHD too!

We’d like to officially thank Carlo from WHD for being so passionate about securing us to the label. The work and dedication shown by him is incredible! From finding us in Subtle Death Magazine, to reaching out to its editor (Omar Vega) to contact us, to the late night calls to our management (in Australia), all the way through to walking us through the deal. We couldn’t be happier knowing that our music and our career are in great hands with WHD.

So what can you expect from us now?

Well just because you can see the mountain doesn’t mean the climb has finished. Now the hard work begins to reward our fans for their patience waiting on our new album and to show WHD that the new kids on the block came to kick heads and take names.”

Look out world…. Mephisto, the pioneers of Black Metal in Cuba have just been unleashed on the world and it’s all thanks to WormHoleDeath Records! 

Mephisto are:

Osney Cardoso Riaño -Vocals
Alexander Jorge Parra – Bass
Kevin Chaperón – Guitars
Fabián F. Rodríguez González – Guitars
David Leonardo Nieves Naranjo – Drums

The band Mephisto was founded in September 1997 in the city of Holguín, Cuba. Mephisto was the first Cuban metal group to combine a multitude of organic and orchestral sounds to emerge as the pioneers of the Black Metal genre in Cuba. Building on their unique sound, the band continued to push contemporary boundaries by appearing on stage in full make-up and costumes, another pioneering first, which caused a great movement within the national scene.

With momentum building, 2018/2019 saw Mephisto welcome international representation with a view of developing a larger global following. Immediately Mephisto rebranded their image, logo and on stage style whilst simultaneously moving towards a more digital platform to facilitate the advancements in technology being felt throughout the music industry. With a grittier live performance harkening back to a more traditional hard edged Mephisto appearance, old fans and new ones alike, resonate with the Pioneers of Cuban Black Metal. Accepting invitations to appear at “The Beast in the Undercity”, Pinar del Rio, Bayamo Musicfest and Romerias de Mayo festivals, Mephisto quickly expanded these shows to encompass the entire nation; kicking off their “Haciendo Metal Cuba” tour in mid March 2019. Completing the run of dates in early May 2019, Mephisto once again returned to the studio to continue the development of their highly anticipated 2020 album ”Pentafixion”. The band’s first single from this album titled “Pentafixion” was completed with filming for the complementing video clip also undertaken.

The video was shot on location in Havana by renowned Producer and Film Maker Victor Vinuesa (Vitiko) and demonstrates perfectly Mephisto’s professionalism, dedication, and passion for their craft. Following up on this single, Mephisto undertook its first tour of Nicaragua in late 2019 selling out venues and building a new fan base in the heart of Managua. A national tour of Cuba is now slated for mid-2021 before returning to Nicaragua for a run of dates later in 2021.

Mephisto – Pentafixion


  1. Intro – Enter The Storm
  2. Storming war anthems
  3. Pentafixion
  4. The birth
  5. Rebellion
  6. The falling
  7. Curse of the pharaoh
  8. The mighty ring
  9. From Hobbiton toward the mountains of Gorgoroth
  10. The last battle
  11. The undivine blessing
  12. Yavhe Sabbaoth (King of nobody)
  13. Burning Fantoft
Mephisto – Signing Announcement
About Michael Juvinall (6477 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: