Fates Warning – Long Day Good Night (2020) Album Review

Reviewed by Chris Hammond

Album: Fates Warning – Long Day Good Night (2020)
Label: Metal Blade
Style: Heavy Metal/ Prog Metal


  1. The Destination Onward 8:12
  2. Shuttered World 5:14
  3. Alone We Walk 4:43
  4. Now Comes the Rain 4:14
  5. The Way Home 7:42
  6. Under the Sun 5:49
  7. Scars 5:05
  8. Begin Again 4:06
  9. When Snow Falls 4:15
  10. Liar 4:23
  11. Glass Houses 3:36
  12. The Longest Shadow of the Day 11:29
  13. The Last Song 3:31
    Total Runtime 72 Minutes 22 Second

    Current band members
    Jim Matheos − guitars
    Ray Alder − vocals
    Joey Vera − bass
    Bobby Jarzombek − drums

Fates Warning returns with their 13 studio album “Long Day Good Night”. One of the pioneers of Progressive metal has evolved their sound nicely over their already 3-decade career. The new album shows off a very progressive metal sound, not unlike bands like Queensryche and others in the genre. Relying heavily on great lyrics and vocals, the band is firing on all gears with this latest release.

Although most metal-heads might not appreciate this more progressive and atmospheric musicianship, fans of bands like Dream Theater and Queensryche will admire the work that was put into every second of this album.

Long Day Good Night also features guest appearances from touring guitarist Mike Abdow, who contributed some solos, plus Porcupine Tree/The Pineapple Thief drummer Gavin Harrison plays on “When Snow Falls”, and “Under The Sun” sees the band incorporating a full string section for the first time.

Vocalist Ray Adler brings listeners on a lyrical journey that doesn’t end until the last note is sung. Musically this album brings everyone involved on a 70 + minute ride that fans won’t soon forget. Some of the songs do suffer from their runtime and feel dated, but overall this is an album that is pretty solid throughout. The stand-out song is of course “Scars” the lead single. This is also the heaviest song on the whole album, which I do wish there were more of, but alas the album is still something worthwhile.

Available now at Metal Blade Records 
  • ltd. digibook-CD
  • 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
  • red / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 500 copies)
  • dark goldenrod marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)
  • clear / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
  • orange / black dust splatter vinyl (Kings Road exclusive – limited to 100 copies)
  • orange / red marbled vinyl (US exclusive)
  • clear w/ red & orange splatter vinyl (US exclusive)

    3.8 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: