Mr.Bungle -The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo Album Review (2020)

Reviewed By Chris Hammond

Mr.Bungle – The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo (2020)
Label: Ipecac Recordings
Style: Thrash/Death Metal

Track Listings

  1. Grizzly Adams 2:55
  2. Anarchy Up Your Anus 2:15
  3. Raping Your Mind 5:53
  4. Hypocrites / Habla Espanol O Muere 3:43
  5. Bungle Grind 6:30
  6. Methematics 8:45
  7. Eracist 3:52
  8. Spreading The Thighs of Death 5:59
  9. Loss For Words 4:16
  10. Glutton For Punishment 4:49
  11. Sudden Death 7:30
    Runtime 56 minutes

For over 2 decades fans of Mr.Bungle have been waiting for a new album release and although the new album primarily revisits the band’s 34-year-old demo The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny (1986), this new release also adds a few new elements. These new elements include the addition of Anthrax main axeman Scott Ian and drummer Dave Lombardo formally of the heavy metal band Slayer. These two musicians are joined by Mr. Bungle royalty Mike Patton (vocals), Trey Spruance (guitar, keyboards) and Trevor Dunn (Bass).

Although Both albums are thrash metal at heart, there are so many other levels of weirdness and comedic tones that are brought to the forefront. The original 86 demo was pure unpolished aggression lead by Patton’s Chameleon-like vocal style. What the original demo lacks in production style, the new release more than makes up for it (even though this album was reportedly recorded in 10 days).

On songs like “Anarchy up Your Anus” and “Spreading the Thighs of Death” Patton shines with his unique, unmatched vocal style, while the rest of the gang join in jamming the hell out musically.

New songs created for this release like “Eracist” and “Glutton for Punishment” add a more modern style overall without losing the Mr.Bungle’s heart and soul. The standout song on the album is “Sudden Death”. This seven and half minute barrage on the senses has everything a thrasher could ever want. Patton’s screams are infectious and mix together with shredding guitar solos by Ian, seven minutes in heaven and hell.

So was the two-decade worth the wait? Yes and then some. The gang has pulled off a great feat by building perfectly on top of already existing material while adding great production and musicianship that they’ve gained over the years. This isn’t going to change the world of Heavy Metal/Thrash music but it most definitely will bring a smile to anyone’s face that listens to it and isn’t that a good thing right now?

Rating 4.5 out of 5 Raging Easter Bunnies
Out now and available for digital download, LP and CD

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: