Aussie Death Thrashers IDLE RUIN Announce New EP for December 4th!

Australian death-thrash crew IDLE RUIN will release the self-titled debut EP, Idle Ruin on December 4th! The band was recently formed during the Covid pandemic and has now risen from those ashes to play ultra-heavy metal. Get more information about the band and the new EP including the tracklisting and album art right here after the break.

From The Press Release

In Brisbane, Australia, an amazing, new band has appeared on the horizon! Idle Ruin plays aggressive and hard-hitting music that could be best described as death metal crossed with blackened thrash. Today, the band is releasing the artwork and release date for their upcoming self-titled debut EP. Idle Ruin’s debut music video The Devil’s Trade will be released at the end of next week (see teaser below), ahead of the EP which will be released on December 4th.

Idle Ruin started when the coronavirus pandemic hit the Australian live scene. Band founder and singer Liam Anthony explains how Idle Ruin came to be: “All our gigs were cancelled, tours were halted and nobody could play anywhere. At around the same time, some of the bands I was playing in had either broken up or fizzled out.” Liam decided to use the lockdown time constructively and began his own project, which is also what inspired the name “Idle Ruin“.

Naturally, the EP reflects this. According to Liam, “this EP is the first offering of some of the songs I wrote during the lockdown, inspired mostly by early death metal and classic blackened thrash bands and brought to life with the help of Kaleb Doherty (guitar) and Josh Dawson (bass).” Liam had been known both Kaleb and Josh throughout Brisbane’s metal community, having also played with both musicians in a previous grindcore band. “The three of us are very like-minded musicians; it’s been great having them on board.”

Watch out now for Idle Ruin!

Liam Anthony – Drums & Lead Vocals
Kaleb Doherty – Guitar & Vocals
Josh Dawson – Bass & Vocals

Idle Ruin was formed by Liam Anthony, who for several years has played drums for numerous Australian thrash and death metal bands (Malakyte, Bone Marrow, Spektre, Decapitated Mum). While Australia’s live metal scene was halted by the COVID-19 pandemic, Liam made use of the lockdown time to write a handful of songs for a new project of his own. For recording the songs, Liam enlisted the help of bassist Josh Dawson (Decapitated Mum, Powerful Owl), and guitarist Kaleb Doherty (When Death Replaces Life).
The resultant self-titled EP will be released in December 2020. Idle Ruin’s goal is simple; to deliver aggressive and hard-hitting death metal that bangs heads and raises beer glasses. Simple as that.


  1. Whipped to Death
  2. Spiritual Contagion
  3. The Devil’s Trade
  4. Gods of Glass
About Michael Juvinall (5953 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: