Slovakia’s GLOOM Reveal Release Date for New Album, ‘Awaken’!

Slovakian gothic metal band GLOOM has detailed the release of their upcoming third album, Awaken. The album is set to be released on April 8th via Slovak Metal Army. Ahead of the album drop, the band has released a lyric video for the track, “Everything Ends”. Check out the lyric video below and get more of a feel for the band as well.

From The Press Release

Today, Slovak Metal Army announces April 8th as the international release date for the highly anticipated third album of Slovakia’s GloomAwaken.

Primarily a gothic metal project, Gloom was founded in the summer of 2001 by Radoslav Priputen, former drummer of death metal band Insepultus. Gloom became a fully functional band at the beginning of 2002 after Igor Tinák (guitar, ex-Insepultus), Tomáš Miščík (guitar), Ivan Eliaš (bass), Ondrej Blaščák (keyboards), and Peter Štofanik (vocals) joined the band.

Gloom started some live shows in summer 2003, and later, in early 2004, they began to record their first nine-tracks-long promo material in studio Perina. Unfortunately, this promo material was recorded without vocalist Peter because of his bad health condition, so he was replaced by Marián Dráč, a guest vocalist of Slovak metal band Frown. Gloom was playing more and more shows in Slovakia and appeared also on stages in Poland.

In early 2006 Gloom‘s first full-length, Nostalgia, was released by Mystic Empire Records. In spring 2006, drummer Radoslav left the band because of his job duties out of Slovakia, so Martin Eliaš helped for some time as a guest drummer and played some live shows. But soon, the band fell apart because of serious disagreements among band members. A short-time resurrection of the band appeared in 2008 in this lineup: Radoslav, Igor, Ivan, Marián, and a new member Lucia Marinčaková (keyboards), but soon ended in May 2009.

Gloom‘s comeback came in 2014 after a long pause. Radoslav and Igor started working hard on new songs. Ivan (their old-new bass guitar player), guitarist Tomáš Čekan, and vocalist Martin Pazdera joined the band. But in early 2015, Ivan and Tomáš left Gloom because of disagreements. A new bass player, Miroslav Maľcovský, joined the band in summer 2015, and all members continued to focus on new material.

In April 2016, a new single, “Souls Walk Apart,” is recorded in studio Umpax as an omen to Gloom‘s new, nearly-ready album Catharsis, recording of which also happened in studio Umpax. The band appeared on stages again. After a long search for a keyboard player, new member Barbora Petrášová joined the band and Gloom is finally in its full-strength condition.  

Second full-length Catharsis was released in March 2017 by Metal Age Productions, which was well-received by critics and fans. At the end of 2017, Gloom played few shows as a warm-up band with XIII.Století during their Slovak tour. Gloom‘s keyboard player Barbora left the band afterwards. In 2018, Gloom appeared on stages at some fests and also as a support band for Germany’s Crematory, this time with guest keyboard player Ondrej Blaščak.

The year 2019 was full of shows and hard work on a new album. Ondrej soon left the band, and Gloom started recording their third full-length, Awaken, in summer 2019, and it will be released on April 8th, 2020 by Slovak Metal Army. The single “Everything Ends” from this album was released on February 5th as an official lyric video.

In the meantime, see & hear that lyric video for “Everything Ends” HERE at Slovak Metal Army‘s official YouTube channel. 

Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Gloom (Slovakia)’s Awaken
1. Feel The Pain
2. Everything Ends
3. Bleed In My Arms
4. Fragments Of Life
5. Broken
6. Hollow
7. Lovecry
8. Epilogue
9. Noose


About Michael Juvinall (6698 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.