Classic Metallers MIDAS Premiere New Track, “Usurper”!

Detroit classic metal machine MIDAS has premiered a brand new track. “Usurper” is off of their upcoming collection of demos entitled, Demo Tapes. The bands sound is reminiscent of Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, and The Scorpions. The collection will be available on LP on March 27, 2020, via Dying Victims Productions. You can check out the track below and get more details on the band and their upcoming LP.

From The Press Release

On March 27th internationally, Dying Victims Productions will release the first two demos of Midas on vinyl LP format under the title Demo Tapes. And today, Deaf Forever magazine’s website reveals the new track “Usurper.” Hear Midas‘ “Usurper” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Hailing from the mean streets of Detroit, Midas are a four-piece band of hard rock warriors. Theirs is an ancient, time-lost sound, recalling rock ‘n’ roll’s first transitions into proto-metal during the hazy, crazy ‘70s. But, MIDAS are not simply retro-retread plagiarists looking to (hazily, lazily) replicate the past; this era and style of music BURNS within them, and it bursts forth with effervescence and excitement across their two demos to date.

Both released during 2019, Midas’ Solid Gold Heavy Metal and Still Hungry each feature four effervescent, exciting songs, and both trounce most bands regular recordings. Brimming with a startling, stultifying confidence, Solid Gold Heavy Metal (which occupies Side A of this Dying Victims vinyl edition) patiently builds eldritch grooves guided by narrative lead work. There’s a subtle yet no-less-dazzling mysticism here recalling earliest Scorpions, Judas Priest, and even trio-era Thin Lizzy – just witness the demo’s eerily breathtaking closer, “Blackened Blade” – as well as subsequent legends Manilla Road and Cirith Ungol. The heavier stylings of the latter begin to come to the fore on Still Hungry, here occupying Side B. Now fully into late ‘70s heavy metal mode, Midas move beyond the moodiness of their first demo to more epic and fantastical landscapes, kicking up the octane and cruising into the night with the ever-aptly titled “Street Knights.” Together, both demos could verily hold together as an exceptionally tight ‘n’ thematic album-length work.

Dying Victims couldn’t be more excited to unleash the majesty ‘n’ mysticism of America’s Midas to a worldwide audience. Take a trip back in time – and into the future – with Demo Tapes!

Begin the trip with the track “Usurper” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Deaf Forever, Germany’s defenders of the true. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Midas (Detroit)’s Demo Tapes
1. Clash of Steel
2. Gauntlet
3. White Lightning
4. Blackened Blade
5. Sands of Time
6. Usurper
7. Street Knights
8. White Wolf


About Michael Juvinall (4965 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: