Metal Blade Records to release CIRITH UNGOL classic ‘King Of The Dead’ as Ultimate Edition with bonus tracks and DVD

Californian heavy metal band CIRITH UNGOL will have their classic King Of The Dead album re-released as an ultimate edition CD and DVD via Metal Blade Records. The album will be released on April 28, 2017. Get all the details below.

From The Press Release

In conjunction with Cirith Ungol‘s first ever live show on European soil at the Keep It True festival in Lauda-Konigshofen, Germany, Metal Blade Records will release the Ultimate Edition of Cirith Ungol‘s King Of The Dead album on the weekend of the fest, April 28th! To hear the classic track, “Atom Smasher”, please visit: – where the King Of The Dead – Ultimate Edition can be pre-ordered in the following formats:
–CD/DVD Digipak
–180g black vinyl
–clear ice blue vinyl (limited to 300 copies – EU exclusive)
–turquoise green/black-marbled vinyl (limited to 200 copies – EU exclusive)
–blood-red vinyl (limited to 200 copies – USA exclusive)
*plus digital options are also available!


The King Of The Dead – Ultimate Edition digipak CD features a full re-mastering by Patrick W. Engel at Temple Of Disharmony, five bonus tracks, expanded packaging and a bonus-DVD! The King Of The Dead – Ultimate Edition LP will be released as part of the Metal Blade Originals series; featuring 400 g spine sleeves, a 12-page booklet and an A1 sized poster, the vinyl was also mastered and fully restored by Patrick W. Engel in January 2017. This version reflects the original sound of the 1st vinyl pressing, released on Enigma in 1984!

King Of The Dead – Ultimate Edition track-listing:
1. Atom Smasher
2. Black Machine
3. Master of the Pit
4. King of the Dead
5. Death of the Sun
6. Finger of Scorn
7. Toccata in D minor
8. Cirith Ungol
9. Last Laugh (Live)*
10. Death of the Sun (alt mix)**
11. Master of the Pit (Live)***
12. King of the Dead (Live)***
13. Cirith Ungol (Live)***
* Live 1984 (bonus Track on original CD)
** alternative version (taken from Metal Massacre I)
*** Live at Frost & Fire Fest II at the Majestic Ventura Theater in Ventura on October 8th, 2016

Bonus-DVD track-listing (Live at The Roxy, West Hollywood, CA on January 19th, 1983):
1. Atom Smasher
2. I’m Alive
3. Black Machine
4. Master of the Pit
5. King of the Dead
6. Death of the Sun
7. Finger of Scorn
8. Cirith Ungol

Cirith Ungol line-up on King Of The Dead:
Tim Baker – vocals
Jerry Fogle – guitars
Michael ‘Flint’ Vujejia – bass
Robert Garven – drums

Cirith Ungol will perform live in Europe for the first time ever at the Keep It True festival in Lauda-Konigshofen on April 28-29. See below for all dates!

Cirith Ungol live
Apr. 28-29 – Lauda-Konigshofen, Germany – Keep It True Festival
May 26-27 – Athens, Greece – Up The Hammers
July 21-22 – Crispendorf, Germany – Chaos Descends
Nov. 17-18 – Wurzburg, Germany – Hammer Of Doom

Cirith Ungol online:

About Michael Juvinall (6643 Articles)
I am a devoted husband and father. I have been a voracious horror fan since the early age of 5 and metal fan since I was 14. I watch all horror films but my great loves are classic horror films: Universal Monsters, Werewolves, Hammer Horror and an all-around affinity for things that go bump in the night! I'm also a huge fan of extreme metal music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: